

Minutes of the ERFP - Steering Committee meeting - 28th August 2014 in Copenhagen, Denmark

<u>Chair:</u> Catherine Marguerat-König

Participants: Sipke-Joost Hiemstra, NC The Netherlands; Kristag Kume, NC Albania; Elzbieta Martyniuk,

NC Poland; Tamas Szobolevszki, NC Hungary; Frank Begemann, Sebastian Winkel, Holger

Göderz, ERFP Secretariat

ERFP Steering Committee Meeting

Catherine Marguerat-König opened the meeting and welcomed the participants. She thanked the Secretariat for the preparation and organization of the ERFP Assembly Meeting. The agenda had been sent to the members before and there had been no comments on it.

Further proceeding regarding the ERFP account holder and the generated interests

Sebastian Winkel gave an overview of the progress of negotiations with EAAP concerning returns on interests and a new ERFP account. As answer to the letter with the request for a separate ERFP account with the functionality of online banking, Andrea Rosati (EAAP Secretary) had asked for a personal meeting in Copenhagen. This meeting had been appointed for the evening of 28th August 2014.

The main advantages of a separate ERFP account would be improved transparency for both, ERFP and EAAP and an increased efficiency in the ERFP transactions.

Frank Begemann reported that EAAP had confirmed the ERFP funds in the amount of 311.868,20 € per 31st July 2014.

Composition of the ERFP Task Force "Collaboration with EU"

The ERFP Secretariat presented the list of nominated members for the Task Force (TF): Didier Bouchel (NC of France), Tamas Szobolevszki (NC of Hungary), Maija Pontaga (Latvia), Jeanne Bormann (NC of Luxembourg), Filomena Afonso (Portugal), Montserrat Castellanos Moncho (Spain) and Göte Frid (Sweden). According to the ERFP Terms of Reference, Task Forces should consist of 3-8 experts, of which at least the leader should be a member of the Assembly. It was decided to ask Jeanne Bormann if she would be willing to preside this TF.

Preparation of the Assembly Meeting

As the term in the ERFP Steering Committee of Tamas Szobolevszki, NC of Hungary, ended in 2014, the Assembly had to elect a new representative for the Central Region on the meeting on 29th/30th August 2014. Jeanne Bormann, NC of Luxembourg had been nominated as his successor.

Furthermore the term of office of the ERFP Secretariat ended in 2014. There was only one application for the hosting of the ERFP Secretariat in the period 2014 – 2018. This application had been sent by the Biotechnical Faculty of the University of Ljubljana.

European Regional Focal Point for Animal Genetic Resources (ERFP) 04th September 2014



The ERFP Secretariat had prepared the "Annual Progress Report 2014" and the "Financial Report 2014" to be presented to the Assembly. The ERFP Steering Committee approved these reports with little amendments. The proposal for the ERFP budget 2015 was agreed.

AOB

Sipke-Joost Hiemstra asked if the outgoing Secretariat would be willing to give some further support in the development of the Memorandum of Understanding and the Letter of Agreement related to the European Genebank Network for AnGR (EUGENA). The Secretariat offered the assistance for a limited time until approximately October 2014.